How Should I Pray

13 11 2010

This morning I was thinking through Ephesians 1.  First, I was just enjoying who I am in Christ Jesus.  Dear Christian if you ever feel down and depleted you absolutely must go to Ephesians 1.  There you are reminded:  1.  I’ve been blessed in Christ with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places (the places by the way where Jesus is reigning even today…the places where it counts the most.  see the end of Eph 1.  2.  I’ve been chosen in Christ before the foundation of the world.  He CHOSE me!  I like being chosen  3.  He chose me so that I can stand before the Father holy and blameless.  4.  He has predestined me for adoption.  So glad to be adopted. 5.  I’ve been redeemed through his blood.  6.  I’ve been forgiven.  I’m blessed.

 

At the end of the chapter Paul is praying for the Ephesians and it reminded me how to pray for the people around me.  So many times our prayers are shallow.  You know the type…Lord, bless Johnny.  How do you pray Biblical prayers for others.  Look how Paul prays for the Saints.

1. He thanks God for them.  Are you thankful for the people that God has placed in your life.

2.  He prays that God would given them a spirit of wisdom.  Everybody needs wisdom.  Wisdom is knowing what to do next.  Some people have knowledge but no wisdom.

3.  He prays that they would have a intimate knowledge of God.  Now isn’t that better than just praying, “Lord, bless them.”

4.  He prays  that their eyes would be focused and clear that they may know exactly what God is calling them to not just do…but to be.  Be glorious for Jesus.

Lord, help me to pray for others like this.

Actions

Information

One response

15 11 2010
# 1 MSU FAN IN GOULA

Everyone seems to have heard from the ” BEAVER ” ( supposedly a Dawg Fan )
except the # 1 Dawg fan in Pascagoula ( maybe self proclaimed )
???? ??? ???? ?? ????? ??

Leave a Reply

