Understanding The Times

23 09 2008

I was just doing my daily Bible reading this morning.  Well I must admit that I’ve gotten slack on it over the past couple of months.  My pastor preached a message Sunday that really challenged me.  No, it was not a challenge to do more stuff.  It was a challenge for more love.  I had to admit as I sat there that my love relationship with Christ had suffered and that I needed to do something about it.  I felt a greater desire to spend time with Him.  There.  That is my confession.

I was reading this morning in 1 Chronicles 12 when I read this verse:  1 Chronicles 12:32 (ESV)
32 Of Issachar, men who had understanding of the times, to know what Israel ought to do, 200 chiefs, and all their kinsmen under their command.

This was part of a list of David’s army.  It got me thinking about how important it is that we understand the times so that we might know what we ought to do.  In this day of economic crisis everbody seems to be so focused upon the world that we live in while spiritually we are going to pot.  I do believe that greed has been the driving force behind this economic meltdown.  In the words of my pastor the golden calf of America is being melted down for us to drink and it does not taste good.

We need leaders and we need followers who understand the times so that we might know what to do.  My prayer is that whoever we elect as President would be that kind of man and he would put those kind of men around him.  In my opinion this is one area that our current president has failed in that he did not surround himself with a strong team.  As John Maxwell says, “You are only as strong as the people who surround you.”